Cairistiona

By Cairistiona1

Ballerinas.

Am heading out this afternoon so an early blip. The wind over the last couple of days has flattened a lot of the croci in the garden. I prefer the name croci to crocuses as it always makes me laugh. I've always thought the word should be a collective noun for crows or jackdaws or something.

Saw a couple of big hooded crows jumping into the tree at the bottom of the garden this morning. They had landed on the branches and did that big hop thing to get further in. Was a bit surprised at first as they normally nest in our defunct chimney. Soon worked out what they were up to though. Stop the wood pigeon has been nesting in the tree with his missus again this year and the big black gits were after their eggs. Needless to say, i true bird tradition, Stop flew over to the roof and left mum to get on with fighting off the intruders both of which must have been at least twice her size. She had a couple of goes at them, which was pretty brave given the circumstances, before she flew off to meet her mate. I thought that was the end of them, but half an hour later they were back in the nest. Don't know if they'll stay though, those crows are smart!

Anyway, back to the croci; I took some of the fallen flowers into the house and stuck them in front of a window to get this image. I've been taking a lot of mono shots lately, so I thought I would pump in a bit of colour, but my favourite is here. There's an other one here too. Used the macro lens with a very big aperture to get lots of softness and reflected the image off of the bit kitchen fascia that I saved from the skip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.