Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Icons?

My son and I went to the Museum of History and Industry (MOHAI) today. I think it might have been my first visit -- but I only lived in the Seattle area for 36 years.

It was difficult choosing what to blip. I learned that the UPS company was founded in Seattle in 1907, and the museum had one of the their original delivery vans, beautifully restored. It's brown, of course. That was candidate number one. Then I was tempted by the Toe Truck -- that's a pun, not a typo.

The ship figureheads won on the basis of beauty and seniority. (There were five of them, but I eliminated two to improve the composition). Here's their history.

Top left -- From the Falls of Clyde, a four-masted sailing ship built in Glasgow in 1878.
Top right -- From the William T. Lewis, a four-masted sailing ship built as the Robert Duncan in Glasgow in 1891.
Bottom -- From the Iolanda, a yacht built in Leith in 1908.

Were all ships built in Scotland back then?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.