timon

By timon

New lens

I don't know about you but every now and then I find myself dreaming about new gear. So far I've managed to keep the investments in pretty good control though. No very expensive pro stuff at all :)

When in 2005 I got my first DSLR with kit zoom I rather soon bought second hand 24-120 VR. It isn't very wide in DX body but I liked the vibration reduction and the focal lenght range fit very well my travel photo needs.

I got more and more interested in landscapes and needed wider lens so next I bought 12-24 in 2007.

When we went to see Formula 1 race in 2008 I wanted a longer lens and bought 70-300 VR. It isn't very fast but it's light and good enough for me so far.

I thought that I won't carry the 70-300 with me on my travels but as you might have noticed I've got pretty eager to snap pictures of birds and miss the tele lens if it's not with me. The problem is that taking all three lenses and carrying them all day for several days don't feel very nice. The back should be lighter.

So when Nikon released the new 16-85 VR I though that it would be good together with 70-300. However, I've not really thought of buying it until couple of weeks ago my 24-120 started behaving oddly. I took it to the doctor and he said that the VR is broken and it costs 310 euros to fix it. So last week I bought a new 16-85 which I blipped today when grey weather continues and there is no reason to go out.

Next on the list is 105 VR macro for close-ups. I've got the bellows which is great for static subjects like this blip but doesn't really work out in the nature. Let's see when I'll get it. I noticed some happy blipper just got hers ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.