Life of Maddydog

By maddydog

Yet Another Breakfast Shot

In case you haven't noticed I'm a nut for food. I started cooking family dinners when I was 10 because I hated my mom's cooking (and still do, 35 years later). The first meal I ever cooked was called "Mad Hatter Meatballs" from the Betty Crocker's New Boys and Girls Cookbook. It's on page 69 (haha, you said 69!), and the recipe is:

1 tablespoon butter, melted in skillet
1 green pepper, chopped
1 onion, minced
Add pepper and onion to skillet; cook until tender.

Stir in:
1 can (10.5 oz.) chicken with rice soup
1 can (10.5 oz.) tomato soup
1 cup water

Heat to boiling, reduce heat, then simmer, stirring occasionally.

Make the Meatballs:
1 egg
1 pound ground beef
2 slices soft bread, torn into pieces
1/4 cup evaporated milk
1 teaspoon salt

Mix together. Shape into balls about the size of ping-pong balls.

Drop the balls into the simmer sauce and cook slowly about 1 hour, or until sauce has thickened.


PS: I found the tub of soy margarine. It was all the way in the back of the fridge for some reason. No idea how it got there, just thankful I didn't find it somewhere weird like the shower. Once again, this is why I stopped drinking, but find it necessary to start again once in a while to remind me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.