LadyFindhorn

By LadyFindhorn

Low Calorie Treat

In the newspaper today it was reported that Tunnocks Tea Cakes are being advertised as a low calorie treat for those people watching their weight.
At only 106 calories apiece and with the endless variety of ways to eat them, I invested £1:33 in buying a packet of 10 to reintroduce myself to their charm.
Actually should you be inclined to eat all 10, you would still be under the recommended daily calorie allowance for losing weight. Now there's a thought!
You can see that I only nibbled about 40 calories worth for the blip, but unfortunately put the rest out of its misery soon afterwards.

Today we have probably had the worst weather of this protracted winter.
With cycling being cancelled, we were all going to bus or drive down to our original destination at the village hall in Eddleston near Peebles where we were going to present our esteemed leader of the Wednesday runs, Peter, with a card and token of our gratitude. He is intending to slip from pole position to the back of the pelaton and let someone younger and faster have a taste of leadership.

His Lordship elected to drive me down as his hill walking was cancelled. We set off from the castle in sleet, but soon realised that the snow was getting worse and worse and deeper and deepr. When we ground to a halt in Penicuik in a tail back of cars, we decided to call it a day and turn round and head for home.

Had I read my e-mails this morning, I would have seen that the destination had been changed to a house about a mile away from us, and had I listened to the radio, I would have known that Penicuik was cut off by snow and no buses were running there. I had to grovel a bit to his Lordship for exposing him to the dreadful conditions, but he took it well as he obviously remembered that I had made all his sandwiches.

We made the meet eventually, and so everything got sorted out in the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.