Writer's Block

By writersblock

Catering Round 1

My dad, step-mom and I went to our first tasting for the reception meal. We made the mistake of going to lunch first thinking that the tasting would be, well, just that - small portions just big enough to try a bite of each dish. Surprisingly the caterer supplied each of us with full-sized portions of three possible entrees, three appetizers, and two full salads each. I could barely eat more than a bite of each which was a shame because it was really good!

We decided on salmon with a unique dried tomato and olive sauce (which I was surprised to find that I actually really liked - I don't usually like salmon) and champagne chicken stuffed with spinach. For the salad we went with mixed baby greens with gorgonzala cheese, glazed walnuts, and pears. And for appetizers I remember picking out a cheese board and something with mushrooms but I can't remember the other two. Overall we were really impressed with them but before moving forward I'm going to go to one or two more for comparison's sake.

Afterward, we hit up two more bakeries just to scope them out since the bakery I thought I was going to go with has been really flakey lately.

Today made me realize how grateful I am for the growing relationship with my parents. It's been a rocky three decades and this wedding has definitely brought us closer together. I finally feel like I HAVE parents who genuinely and unselfishly care about me and that feels really good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.