random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Murud

Through the hills South of Pune and then to Onion Bhagee land on a narrow mountainside road before dropping to Mumbai - Goa highway and then a sharp right to the coast.

Then visited the fish market. So many fish. If they catch this many every day how come there are any left in the sea. These ones are drying. There do appear to be people nearby to make sure the birds don't grab them. Behind the buffalo carts are moving things about and the tailend of the selling is going on - on the beach, dealers come from Mumbai. We bought two Pomfret for a pound and paid the accomodation restaurant more to cook them for us.

The sea was very strong, the waves pushing me in, and down the coast. I can only have been stood in the sun for less than the time it takes to drink one beer but still my shoulders and neck are burnt - but not my arms or legs. Straight down sun or else my legs and arms get more exposure.

Despite this not being an Indian holiday and despite me not taking it as a holiday in my UK holiday plan, it is an Indian holiday as we supposedly cannot support our european colleagues who are off, and my contract says I get their public holidays, so I'm off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.