Yedameister

By Yeda

Rotten Egg

Always open for ideas to entertain my kids, especially around the holidays, I took my kids and niece to an Easter event I knew very little about. It promised loads of fun, so I went with it. Turns out a helicopter dropped 20,000 easter eggs (plastic) over a large grass field that was roped off. Children were herded into sections just outside of various gates according to age groups. This way a five-year-old would not be bull dozed down by a ten-year-old. Well, when they were finally allowed in, the race was on. I think there were more parents on the field than children. It was an ugly sight, I must say. A lesson learned. Out of 20,000 eggs, my seven-year-old could only grab two, reducing him to torrents of loud angry tears all the way back to the car. I hoped there were other games and other entertainment, but this was it. I left riddled with questions as to why this event even happened at all. What was its purpose? To reward grabby, clawing children with cheap plastic eggs that only contained tooth decaying sugar prizes? Amazing and incredulous that this was also sponsored by a church. What was their mission?

It was an Ugly American Event. I won't participate ever again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.