More Life of Sands

By sands

Eider Ducks

I had a really lovely day today!

I stayed over with Chris and Hazel last night and slept right through to 8.30 this morning! The cats are usually jumping on my head well before then so that was a real treat!

After a cooked breakfast (egg, bacon, sausage, beans - very yummy!), I headed home via Staples to buy some work toys (a wireless mouse and keyboard, amongst other things!).

This afternoon, I went for a walk on the beach and saw these two Eider Ducks close to the shore. Female Eider Ducks are amazing. They build nests on the ground. After they lay the eggs, they sit on the nest and never leave it until the eggs are hatched. After that, the ducklings are looked after in nursery groups by younger females and the males so the mother ducks can go get food and rest! There are often nursery groups swimming around just off the beach here in NB in the summer.

I had a surprise visit from my friends Neil and Roxy this afternoon too - I just love it when people drop by like that :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.