Mum to be

Every year we have a seagull nest on the roof of the house opposite. Here is this years mum to be. She has spent the last few days pottering around getting bits for inbetween the four chimney pots where she has chosen to rear her young.
They are actually a pest here in Lyme and can be very aggresive and cocky enough to steal food from peoples hands. But as much as they can be a pain I think they are beautiful. They always make me think of my late Grandad who was in the Navy for many many years, when I was a child he told me that seagulls were the souls of dead sailors. The day after he died I was outside at work and a seagull landed about 10 feet from me and just stared at me. It stayed for ages just watching me and then, feeling a bit foolish I said "hello Grandad", it then cocked it's head and flew off. I'd like to think it was him coming to say goodbye.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.