Alephnaught Blip

By alephnaughtpix

Goodbye Archos

Been doing my spring clean, and found my old Archos 504. This was a marvel of technology at the time, a Linux based media viewer, MP3 player and USB hard drive with a whopping capacity of 160GB, ten times the capacity of my iPhone. The only problem, as with many HD based devices, would be it's relative fragility compared to flash devices, and so the hard drive eventually gave out at the end of last year. Rather than pay for replacing it, I decided I would use the impending replacement phone for the multimedia, and other devices for the storage. It's surprising how quickly I've forgotten this device which used to be a major part of my electronic life, and how quickly technology has moved on even in the year since I last used it. The ultimate irony of course is that this picture was taken and processed on it's successor. It's fitting final image. Goodbye, old friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.