Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

The teacher

After 2.5 years, our last appointment with Gwen, the LA deaf and hard of hearing early start teacher. Gwen stepped in and help me find my way in understanding deaf resources and deaf culture, and has always been a great sounding board for my developing ASL, even if my lack of understanding of colloquialisms, clarifiers and dialects would be of great amusement to her ;-)

For this I'm ever grateful. She reminded me today how concerned I was just a year ago about this day coming, how adrift I thought I'd feel without the support and yet it's funny how you adapt, how you learn and how seemingly impossible challenges can be overcome if you break them up into little pieces. Much easier to digest. It's funny too how Reuben has done his damnedest to avoid the activities she'd bring to involve him. So perhaps this little wry smile is an ironic nod just to that.

So much continues to change, all in preparation for my little boy turning 3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.