Grounded

By grounded

Service Handbag!

I had a request the other day from an ardent follower of my blips. A dutch gentleman who I met playing backgammon on-line several years ago. He is fascinated by all things RAF and asked if we have a 'service purse', what it looks like and what regulations govern its use!

Well here is my WRAF issue handbag which I was issued in 1988 when I gained my cadetship. The strap can be worn long as shown or shortened to half the length. If it is long it is to be worn over the left shoulder (not across the chest) leaving the right hand free for giving and receiving salutes! If the strap is shortened it is to be carried in the left hand (not slung over the shoulder)! It is a black plastic material and sadly not leather and has a little name pocket on the underneath so you can put your name on it! I carry my purse, diary, tissues, pens and pencils and a couple of pain killers shown in a bit of tin foil in it!

As for today, a day at work spent doing stuff and wondering when we will get our aircraft flying again. The evening spent with my prayer partner, and hubby out for a beer with the boys!

It would appear the UK is returning to flying tonight! Hurrahhh! I hope all flights are safe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.