Ava's Sock Drawer

By avassockdrawer

My Husband's Green Thumb

I should have tomatoes within the month!! And when I say "I," I mean my husband should have tomatoes ready for me within the month.

If we relied on my green thumb, we'd all starve. But every spring, even when I think it's much too early, my husband drags me out and we start looking at plants and he's asking me what kind of tomatoes I'll want this year. "I don't know - those red kind that are mostly round?"

But he makes me take part in the decision process and he reminds me of the ones I've liked in the past and we get a couple tiny tomato plants that look like they have no hope whatsoever, and a pepper plant or two and we come home and I grudgingly help him plant them.

Then the most amazing thing happens! They start to GROW! And then they get BLOOMS! I was very excited showing him the little yellow blooms the other day and he said, "Yes, you should have tomatoes in about 30 days."

He said it like it didn't come as any surprise at all! As if the fact that we can put the saddest little piece of plant into dirt and it comes back with huge rich leaves and yellow blooms that eventually turn into my lucsious juicy tomatoes isn't some sort of miracle!! Men!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.