Nee-Naw

After a late night on the hen night last night we were strangely up early this morning. I wasn't having breakfast, so let the others get showered and dressed. I decided I'd get ready while they went for food. I phoned hubby just before I did, and as we chatter, the fire alarm went off. As you do, you assume it's a test. I got off the phone and looked into the corridor. There were many others doing the same. The general decision (on finding no staff in sight) was that maybe we had best all head outside.

So I grabbed my shoes and jacket and headed out....in my pyjamas! How much do I wish I'd got dressed before making a call! So we get outside and it's POURING. Really chucking it down. I'm there in my pyjamas drenched with last night's make up on. not a good look I'm thinking!

Within about 3 minutes, 2 fire engines zoomed up with lights flashing. A quick scoot round the building proved it to be safe to go back in. But a letter will be going from the party to the hotel to express concern over how it was handled. Not one person asked us to leave the building, checked the rooms or anything. The 3 staff we did see just up and walked out themselves and left everyone to it. Thank goodness it wasn't a fire then eh!

I'm utterly exhausted after my train journey home. I'm getting too old for this lack of sleep thing. Amazing what having kids does to you. Early night tonight!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.