More Life of Sands

By sands

Diving Off Cumbrae

This weekend, I am diving with a group of divers from Yorkshire. We are staying at the Watersports Centre on Cumbrae and diving this area of the Clyde. Most of us are preparing for one of 3 exams - National Instructor, First Class Diver and Advanced Instructor. I know some of the Yorkshire group and managed to wangle a places on the trip for myself (prepping for NI) and my friend Nial (prepping for FCD).

We dived off a hardboat called Flying Eagle and one of the Yorkshire guys brought a RIB up too.

I have some demons to exorcise this weekend. I have had a big mental barrier when it comes to diving some of the deeper wrecks in the Clyde. The visibility is usually low and it can be very dark and this exacerbates the nitrogen narcosis I usually get on deeper dives.

Today we dived the Beagle - a 30m wreck off the north-west point of Cumbrae - and demon 1 exorcised! I was pretty narced on the dive but sort of enjoyed it. The viz was about 2m and it was fairly light. I didn't do much teaching on the dive but my main goal was not to abort which is what I acheived :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.