to infinity and beyond

By whizkids

spinous process of the 4th lumbar vertebra

Gross anatomy begins tomorrow. It is going to be an adventure.

Attached is a portion of a letter written long ago to the school by a willed body donor:

'... Now, to my chest. At birth this was a crushed chest that almost let me die. As we grew older it became a grotesque thing which I knew I had to change. So I did all I could to bring it out with exercise, etc. Frankly, I am proud of my accomplishment as I became a rather husky man instead of a cripple.

You see, my friend, it was on this chest that I would lay my babies, and we'd either play together or sleep a little. It was on this chest that I would hold them if they hurt themselves. It was against this chest that I would hold my wife, and she has often said it made her feel secure and good.

As for my stomach, let's just say I treated it with respect, and in turn it gave me no trouble (maybe a little gas once in a while). But we enjoyed good eating, had a few nips of the grape together, and got along fine.

The legs -- what a beautiful part of the body they are --; how I used to love to run on them! I was not a fast runner, but they were strong legs and allowed me to do well in athletic events. These legs pulled the sleigh, pushed the wagons, bounded with joy and happiness; moved quickly in an emergency. Oh yes, I loved my legs for they were as a friend.

Now, to my feet. What can I say, except to thank God for them, and for the privilege of walking through this life and being a part of its wonder.

No doubt you who are exploring my body are either doctors or studying to become one. Let me just say I wish you greatness in your pursuit. I think yours is a gift and the most honorable of professions -- be worthy of its calling. To heal -- what a wondrous thing that man can do for man."




And I'm going to sneak in a comment to my wife, just to see if she reads it - I love you so much, and I'm proud of you for sleeping on the couch with the baby just because you worry about her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.