All for sake of....

By mairismum

Homework

I was always a wee swot really. Doing homework was never something that I had to be forced to do.. Or maybe I don't remember it clearly. I have no memories of my mother standing over me with threats of no Disney Channel if I didn't get it done.

I have taught other people's children for almost 20 years, and I flatter myself that I can generally motivate them into making some effort.

SO how is it that I cannot get a handle on my own daughter? Are they predesigned to push ALL your buttons?
If she decides she's into it, she'll concentrate for hours on every detail, but anything anyone else, like her educators, suggests she do, and we have the concentration of a gnat with alzheimers. SIGH.

The one thing I have gained in this motherhood journey, is an insight into my own mother's ability to drive me up the wall into a screaming fit, when other people would only make frown. It seems this is a pay it forward deal.

Of course maybe if there had been a Disney Channel when I was a kid, I might have found it a preferable alternative to the homework too...

Today's labour of tears and sweat is a report on her experience with growing plants. The visit to the Tulips last week was inspired timing as it turns out. After the initial tantrum she got quite into it as suspected, but am I going to have to stand over her shoulder for the next 10 years??

I have no frame of reference for this, swot that I am.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.