fotoflarewithclare

By tookie

Tribute to My Mom

Happy Mother's Day tomorrow moms out there and moms remembered. This is a collection of photos of my mom....a collage in the center and then some of them done closer up. I'll come back and edit this and fill at what times in her life they were taken. Mom had a huge warm smile for everyone and besides raising four children she was a girl scout leader close to twenty years, did enamel on copper work, was the chief cook and dinner organizer for church dinners, worked as a bookkeeper in the family tree business, and taught me to be a strong woman ...to speak out at injustices and not be afraid to voice an opinion when you saw something was not fair. Mom would say she was way way more conservative than I am and whatever happened to me.... but her strong values for equality and fairness made a big impression on me despite our differences. I miss her very much and dedicate today's to her---because tomorrow is my 200th!

I included a baseball shot as mom loved baseball and was a softball pitcher in her youth. Upper left is me and mom and then counter clockwise---mom's mom Clara, 2 enamel on copper plates she did , a bronze girl scout leader statue , the main big collage of all the pics, on the far bottom right is mom's wedding with her mom, then mom and dad, then dad's mom-Mary Elizabeth Lanphear, the cake cutting, mom's college graduation from Mather at Case Western Reserve in 1940, the teeny one is mom with her flute in marching band--her most favorite thing of all in high school, her elementary photo, top upper left is her and her dog, another wedding cake shot, another with a dog and one with her cooking breakfast at Usury St. PK in Arizona.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.