Toadally Mad

By toadally

Brush

I will be backblipping for Tuesday 4 May but it's on Mr Toadally's camera and his laptop has a virus so I have to find where we put the card reader first!

We bought this on our honeymoon, nearly 15 years ago now, in the Seychelles. We just got it the local shop, the maids all used them to sweep the rooms and we just liked the utilitarian nature of it, all made from natural twings. We had a wonderful holiday and said we'd go back but never have - so far.

First of all we had over 2 weeks in Mauritius where I was teaching on a new programme my university set up there for the government, getting Mauritian economics / business studies teachers trained to degree standard. So at meal times there could be up to 12 of us at the table, not your usual honeymoon but great fun! We toured all over the island, hired a local driver to take us round and stayed at a couple of fairly ordinary hotels which suited us just fine. The hotel room was paid while I was working, also my return flight, Mr Toadally said it was a very good honeymoon for a Scotsman!

Then we finished off with a week in the Seychelles, unfortunately I was quite ill with what turned out to be giardia, we're certain it was caused by some water I had on the BA flight from Mauritius. Wasn't diagnosed for 7 months, then the treatment was quite quick and effective. At first we thought it was a bad reaction to the malaria tablets - boy was I ill!!

Lovely memories, apart from that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.