A Difficult Journey

By shyposter

No Daddy bear?

When I was a little girl, my older sister (9 years my senior) always used to say things like "that toy's nice - keep it clean so when I have kids it can be passed on to them".

This I did as a willing little sister ... I kept a wind up TV which had a paper-roll of Snow White and played "Hi Ho, Hi Ho, It's off to work we go ..." with a lovely tinkly tune - it was duly passed to my sister for her first child - and promptly broken.

I kept a beautiful black doll (rare in the 70s) which I named Rosie ... my sister has now duped my Step-mother into believing this was originally hers and has claimed it.

And I had a lovely glass set of the 3 bears - from when my mum (who sadly passed away almost 23 years ago) visited a factory on a WI day trip before she started getting poorly ... duly "loaned" to my sister to display in her daughter's room ... (she knew they were only ever on loan) and when my niece left to go to university about 4 years ago, I spotted them and asked for them to be returned.

However, somehow, daddy bear didn't make it.

I'm not sure how he got broken as I can't ask my sister without the bitterness showing in my voice ... but I have very few things left which my mum actually bought specifically for me - this set was one thing, and as with everything else from my past it has something vital missing.

Some things just can't be replaced. And you should never try.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.