Kirsty McGee Photojournal

By kirstymcgee

Fire Damage, Neighbour's Flat

Just a sobering reminder of our elderly neighbour's current problems with fire safety. After contacting the authorities about my fears for his safety only to be frightened out of my wits by a late night smoke alarm and a flat full of smoke a couple of days later, I went down to see the builders and found that the fire had been a lot worse than I'd previously thought. It saddens me that although he's determined to carry on living independently in his middle 80s, it means him having to live in a house where fire damage and blackened walls has become his daily reality. I guess he's not said anything to anyone for fear of losing his home. The builders were complaining that the soot was all over their hands. Our neighbour's been living here (and we've been living above him!)
After unplumbing his cooker for a few days and organising meals-on-wheels, a few months after this shot was taken (I'm backblipping) he's back to cooking for himself again. It's a good job they replaced this kitchen otherwise I daresay he'd still be cooking in the dark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.