Trabroun

By trabroun

In the eye of a needle how quickly things can chan

Oh what a day, not only the did the politics of the UK take a change of direction so did my opinion in vaccinations!

All the planning for the holidays in June is just about complete except for the connecting flights to London - two wee hiccups in that
1 An Iceland volcano
2 BA crew strike

So Plan B is now in operation - looking a different carriers / train alternatives

However this has no bearing on today. I had got the rest of the Trabroun Gang vaccinated last week thus leaving me the last to be done.

We checked what vaccinations were required, in my eyes only Hep A and typhoid but since it was years since I had the last lot I was told "Best just get a booster".

So I trooped off the GP practice for my jags at 10.40 for Hep A, Typhoid, Tetanus, Diphtheria, Polio and Whooping cough

"Two jags, one in either arm so we will be able to tell which one is which if it chooses to flare up"

That"ll not be happening says I
Famous last words - nearly literally

10.40 As planned the vaccine was injected into my arms
10.45 Walking across the car park ? felt a bit ugh
10.50 Whilst driving on the A1 felt more ugh,
10.55 Phone Mr T stating that I felt now blurgh and comparing my symptoms with his - his nil, mine - dizzy, lightheaded, squeamish, numb left arm tingling and swollen facial glands and chest tightness.
10.56 Phone the GP practice to speak to the nurse asking what the normal side effects
11.00 Drove the Mr T's work and got him to take me back to the practice as it was now unsafe for me to drive. Mr T was uncharacteristically quiet at this point and frequently asking how I was feeling and looking at me in the most peculiar manner
11.10 Back to the practice where the receptionist met me and took me through to the Doctor who took one look at me and asked "do you normally look like that"
Having checked my face in the mirror and saw a white munchkin who looked like the spawn of an alien squinting back at me, I was glad to say "no"
11.12 Antihistamines now swallowed, lay down for regular observation with supervision and regular blood pressure and pulse and respiratory function checks
11.30 BP now stabilising, chest tightness easing
11.40 Colour returning to my face - white not green
11.50 GP looking more relaxed - me too
12.30 In the chemist with a prescription for antihistamines for a month
13.00 Phonecall to work saying I wouldn't be at work today
1310 Home

Doctor- "your future vaccines will be done at the Vaccination Clinic at the hospital in future as they have resuscitation facilities if required"
Me -"what future vaccines"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.