Moments

By togrrrl

Not so stupid?

The stupid pigeons turned out not to be so stupid after all!

I don't know how they managed it but when I looked down at their nest today there was this strange looking ball of gray feathers. Fearing the worst, I rushed to a closer window and saw that the ball of feathers was breathing and indeed was actually two chicks that had hatched last week while I was away!

The smaller chick burrowed under its sibling to stay warm, although, poking your head under your nest mate's bottom might not be the smartest thing to do.

Later I saw one of the parents sitting on them to keep them comfy. It was pretty cold today. On my way home, I saw the other parent frantically grabbing tiny insects and bits of leaves to feed the family.

So those pigeons knew what they were doing! I hope these chicks make it. I feel all protective now even though they have a face (and a butt) that only a mother pigeon could love.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

So...I feel slightly overwhelmed and quite happy about all of the wonderfully kind and complimentary comments on yesterday's 200th blip. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

For those of you who wondered how I did it, I had happened to take a picture of a window washer yesterday and them used the Lightroom paintbrush to make graffiti. I was otherwise devoid of inspiration. But that's one of the wonderful things about a picture a day, it doesn't give you too much time to think and then, voila! Inspiration happens!

I will try my best to get back to everyone! If I don't manage it, please know that I treasure every comment and the warmth of this community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.