1..2...3..

By jeanine

pooches

Normally I sleep through the night like a bear sleeps through the winter, but this cold has had me tossing and turning once every hour or two and it's driving me nuts.

Decided to go out with my mum this afternoon to pick up a couple things from the store, and on our way, we saw a thin labrador retriever walking in the rain. We pulled over and I ran across the street to look to see if it was wearing any tags, and of course, she wasn't. So I held onto its collar and walked it partway around the crescent where we'd seen it, and asked around, with my mum slowly driving behind me. We had no leads on where this dog was from. No one recognized her.

We took the dog to our vet to see if she had a microchip with her informaiton. Alas, no microchip. So we stopped by the store on our way, and drove back the way we came, looking for open fences, slow-moving vehicles, and pedestrians walking with empty leashes in the rain.

We pulled back onto the crescent and asked a mother and daughter if they'd known the dog. They pointed out a couple houses where they believed it could have been from, but didn't know for certain. We turned the car around, and approached a man who, after looking at the dog, knew exactly where it came from.

"She's an old girl from the second or third house around the corner on the other side of the road" he said, "I don't know the number, but I know the house." He gave us a brief description and we rushed over there.

Sure enough, her owner was sitting on the porch, worried as anything.

I wish I'd had my camera on me to get a picture of the pretty lost dog, but I'd left it on my desk. So this lovely drooly face is that of my older girl, Sasha :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.