Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Let's Move!

But I thought you liked this house and the neighborhood. I do -- I just want to move the house next door.

Apparently that's what's happening here. The owners bought this house and the adjacent lot. They've had a basement excavated on the other lot, and the house is now ready to be moved over it.

I've been in the USA since 1966, and I still can't get used to the idea of moving houses. It shouldn't be hard for a recovering engineer to accept -- it's just like moving a large wooden box, although I'm sure the devil is in the details.

The steel beams protruding on the right support the house. The beams sit on carriages which run on the rails visible on the left. If you view this blip large, you'll see two chains connecting the whole assembly to the motors (not visible) which will drag it to the left.

The photo was taken in very contrasty light late in the day. I was tempted to wait until tomorrow for better conditions, but I was afraid I might miss the move.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.