Rodents rule

By squirk

Wildlife haven

I had a home day today, but I have to call myself 'half-a-job' Squirk because I trimmed only half the hedge and painted only half the windows I wanted to paint. Oh well.

F and I escaped the house to walk around the block and ended up in the cemetery, which isn't far from the house. The cemetery is a haven for wildlife - we saw a half dozen magpies, squirrels carrying huge conkers, a couple of jays and a green woodpecker. Unfortunately, I didn't manage to snap the woodpecker. So, here is a view that can't fly away.

Here's more information about the cemetery. The large gravestone to the right belongs to John Britton. I always think of it as The Monolith from 2001: A Space Odyssey and F thought it may have inspired Stanley Kubrick as he filmed part of A Clockwork Orange in West Norwood (in Nettlefold Hall), but we've discovered through Google that A Clockwork Orange was filmed after 2001. It really does look like The Monolith though.

The pointed mausoleum belongs to James William Gilbart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.