Dogwood Puddle Pics

By dogwoodpuddle

LAN

Network hassles:
The advertising with the computer from Costco implied it had a wireless card already installed, NOT!
so debate sending it back, but even without the card it's a good deal,
So:
It's off to LOWES we go Hi Ho, Hi Ho
and return with Cat5e cable and some wall sockets made by RCA
(translate: R-epublic of C-hina peoples A-rmy).
Now: I love the Chinese, I have studied Chinese literature, I have even kissed a Chinese girl.
But: I hate the (lack) of instructions that accompany most devices fabricated in China.
This was no exception. The first two sockets had no instructions, a web search and reference to RCA's web sight was unrevealing.
I did learn that Cat5 cable is made up of four pairs of bundled wires, each pair being twisted together in a different twist rate based on a different prime number, which reduces crosstalk between the channels.
Anyway:
Another trip to LOWES and many conversations with pleasant but unhelpful sales staff, and BEHOLD I fortuitously discovered this little piece of paper wedged into the bottom of a different but compatible RCA wall socket.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.