burn the fleet

By brett

Chocolate

Did you know that 60-80% of all chocolate is made from cocoa beans that are picked by slaves?

I learnt that while I was in Australia.

We watched a short documentary about it and they interviewed a group of guys that had just been rescued from slavery. Every one of them had scars covering their entire body from the constant beatings they received.
They ended up in slavery in two different ways. Either they agreed to go under the pretense that they were going to be paid and were able to return to their families. Or They were captured and simply forced to work against their will.
They all lived in one room with no beds and a pale in the corner to serve as the toilet. It was sickening.

I'll never forget the closing line of the movie.

When one of the former slaves was asked what he would say to those who were buying and eating this chocolate, something he had never even tasted, he simply said. "You are eating my flesh"

I am still shocked by this.

I know there are plenty of other things that deserve attention, like sweat shops that make my shoes and shirts, but this is one thing I can do. Im done with chocolate unless it has a fair trade logo on the front of it. Its the absolute least I can do.

I just cant go on enjoying a luxury at the cost of someone dying so I can have it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.