Dear Photo Diary

By rutherfordium

Still singing...

Yes, yes, I know. This shot is almost identical to the one I posted on Monday, but I've got an excuse (sort of...)

Today I decided to take the next step in my bird stalking photography - identifying and finding birds by their call. I had memorised the chaffinch's song on Monday so I thought I'd go for it. I ended up tracking down three of them, which is more than I've ever seen before, so listening for calls is obviously a good idea! I'll have to learn some more.

I'm pretty sure this is the exact same bird I blipped before; he was only yards away from that spot and seems much less jittery than the other chaffinches. I thought I got close last time but I got even closer today! Monday's shot was a heavy crop so I don't think I was able to show the large version, today I hardly had to crop at all so if you view in large you'll be able to see him in all his glory :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.