Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Different Kind of Rodeo

This afternoon I went to the Bellingham Technical College 9th Annual Team Welded Sculpture Competition, aka the Welding Rodeo. Four-member teams of welding students from colleges and high schools compete to build a sculpture from scrap metal in eight hours. There is also a separate category for professionals.

This was the first Rodeo I'd attended. I was a bit taken aback when I saw that each team was fenced off in a booth, only visible through heavy plastic screens in the front. However, when I took a closer look, I found that some of the booths had small gaps at the corners that were big enough to shoot through, although the viewing angle was limited.

The contest theme for this year was "The Human Form". Some of the interpretations were more subtle than others.

Do you think the fellow on the right is really named Mine?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.