This day

By snapper

Nip & Tuck(backblip)

Today my task was to help #2 daughter get a fancy dress for her "school formal"
Now don't get me wrong but when I left school waaaay back in the wicked old days when I left school we were shown the gate...end of story....go and make your own way in the big wide world

Now they have a very glamerous dance with band with all the trimmings and the girls all vie with eachother to see who has the preetiest dress etc. After a futile search last week after using much shoe leather, today I decided to go no fourther than good old Partick! to Catherine's in fact. Once in there the place was jumping with women of all shapes and sizes trying on the most amazing stuff! One wuman was trying on some stripey number with countless frills that looked very much like she was wearing a duvet! How can you be tactful? Anyhow we were allocated a very nice lassie who brought a host of weird and wonderful frilly , sticky out, clinging assortment of dresses with figures on the price tag that made my eyes water!

Finally after much trying on and off with zipping up & down, youngest settled on a very elegant wee simple number, ok it needs a few alterations done but nothing major and I even managed to sneak a peek at the price tag and was heartened to see it was under £100. Great I thought and not so painful. Then the sneaky little charming madame assistant said " you will need shoes" so we chose a pair of shoes, then she slyly added" off course a wee clutch bag will just set it off" so out came an assortment of microscopic wee bags!

After settling on shoes and a tiny bag, plus bargain price dress and a set of wee ear rings I got to the checkout. When the total was rung up my eyes watered and the room swam and the charming wee evil assisstant smiled sweetly and I handed over my plastic which I am sure went into melt down and came out the bloody shop realising the lovely coniving wee lassie had stung me for quite an extraordinary sum of money.

"Under no circumstances will you tel ANYONE what I paid for that blooody wee bag" I said, the dress was ok , the shoes were fine but I still get the vapours when I think of the dam bag! To any other mother in a similar dilema, DON'T buy the handbag!!!!!

Have a nice blip weekend all, I am going to lie down in a darkened room with a strong red!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.