Picture Consequences

By consequences

Uncomfortable chat

Turning quickly around, Phil Armstrong found himself being addressed by a policeman leaning out of the passenger window of a patrol car.

In his mind's eye, he imagined the steel door at the rear of his building, the door through to where the equipment was kept. Had it been ajar? He was pretty sure it had. Would the others have the sense to close it? He wasn't sure - would they even know they needed to?

Offering up a silent prayer of thanks that he'd closed the front doors when he had, he replied, "that's right officer. Just checking my storage here. Can't be too careful, eh?"

"A good point sir. Been a number of break-ins in the area, unfortunately. Which brings me to why we stopped for a chat. When we drove past about ten minutes ago, those doors were wide open - and forgive me if I'm mistaken, but we didn't see you here, sir. Have you checked the building? Is everything OK here?"

"Oh yes, officer," replied Phil. The people you saw earlier were, er, colleagues of mine. I'd asked them to come down here to meet me, and they'd got here before me. That's what you must have seen."

"Ah, I see, Mr Armstrong. Just wondering why you've shut your colleagues in the building then, sir. Unless, that is, they've gone?"

Before Phil could say that everyone had left, the Major appeared from the side door of the building.

Phil decided he'd leave the talking to him.



Part Two begins here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.