Everyday Sfinx

By Sfinx

Joe Z

Another day of sneezing and snuffling...stayed at home in bed today with my laptop, altering between periods of sleeping with it, and efforts to finish a research article on it...

...read with sorrow in the morning paper that Joe Zawinul, one of my favourite jazz fusion artists have left the material world! Saw him last autumn on Jeriko in Malmö in a fantastic and intense concert with his Syndicate.

He´s mostly known as the founder of Weather Report, one of the first jazz fusion and world music bands in the 70´s and 80`s, who have had enormous impact on electrical jazz music ever after! My blip today is a tribute to him!

(It seems like i am about to fall into a niche here: That blipper who always shoots old vinyl record covers!....don´t want that to happend!!!)

I put on one of my old WR favourites, "Boogie Woogie Waltz" a long tune having its head in the sky and its feet on the playground!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.