incidental music

By incidentalmusic

seeing the blossom

Another spot of evangelism from me today, rather than a proper photo, I'm afraid. As part of the Guardian's 'Great Interviews' series, they've published Melvin Bragg's 1994 interview with Dennis Potter. At the time of this interview, Dennis Potter had been diagnosed with cancer, and knew he had three months or so to live (which proved to be accurate). I caught this when it was first broadcast, and to see him in such incredible pain, swigging from a bottle of liquid morphine, remembering his childhood, literally living for every second of every day, is one of the most moving and inspiring things I've ever seen.

I've never seen these two sections in print before, but I could have recited them almost verbatim anyway. These words just struck home immediately, and I'll never forget them. The Guardian have put the interview extracts and some clips on their website.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.