A Difficult Journey

By shyposter

Mum's

These little birdies were a pressie from my mum to my auntie many years ago. My mum has been gone almost 23 years, and I'm sure these were given a fair few years before she died.

The birds were given back to me the last time I went to see my aunt last summer (she's my dad's sister but she was very close to my mum). She is becoming more aware of her own advancing years now - she was born in the same year as my mum and will be 77 next month, and she wanted to make sure these little critters found their way back into the right family before anything happens.

They're both chipped and broken, but damaged or not - at only just over an inch or so tall, there will always be a place for them here ... in my house and my heart.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.