Photos from a random mind

By katkatkat

Guarded

Since getting my new toy I've been in the process of setting up a new vivarium for Milo as the plastic faunarium that he's in, is as much use as a chocolate teapot when it comes to retaining heat or humidity. Since then, I have had nothing but hassle with setting it up.

I ordered the ceramic heat bulb, ceramic bulb holder and aquarium sealant on ebay. The bulb was fine. The holder arrived broken and eventually I pursuaded the guy it was a manufacturing problem not some thing I'd done and he agreed to send a new one out. I've not recieved it yet and have ordered a new one from someone else. A few days after ordering it I got an email from the sealant guy telling me it was supposed to be listed as a box of 12 and unless I wanted that many I'd have to cancel the order (I'm sure ebay has rules about that but anyhow).

Next the viv arrived along with hides, fake plants, substrate, viv lock and a more appropriately sized waterbowl. No problems there and I got a giant box of bubble wrap. Yay!

The place I'd ordered a guard for the ceramic bulb from (they get incredibly hot so you have to stop the snake being able to touch it) said they'd dispatched my parcel but when I eventually contacted them it turned out that it had never left the warehouse. Decided to cancel the order and get a custom made one as the commercial one didn't have enough of a gap between the bulb and guard.

Today the custom guard arrived and it is pictured above. We're going to have to set about it with a hacksaw as whilst I gave him the bulb dimensions I forgot to mention the viv is only 16" high and the guard he sent was 12" high.

Hopefully the rest of the process will be trouble free.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.