David's Blips

By drl

Liberty

A stunning, yet ever so slightly overwhelming day.

I've seen things today that I've only ever seen in the movies before.

First up, we got the subway into Lower Manhattan. Someone told me not to bother visiting the Statue of Liberty, but to get the Staten Island ferry instead. So that's what we did. Just as well, the queue to get onto the Liberty ferry was possibly the longest queue I have ever seen. It's probably still queuing now.

After returning from Staten, which interestingly didn't cost us a penny, we headed to the Ground Zero site. While essentially just a building site, it was probably the most overwhelming bit of the day. Everyone has seen the September 11th devastation, so to see the place it happened with your own eyes, and the gap it left, was a little eerie.

Times Square saw us visit the Chicago Rock Cafe and the best Toy's R Us in the world. Finished with another walk through Central Park, man I love that place already.

New York, New York, so good they named it twice. I can see why.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.