Family Dog

By Family_Dog

whooooosh

My lovely friend Ana had organised a wee toddler trip out to the local fire station so through the whole of our lovely weekend (2 BBQs and sunshine both times...unheard of!) Arlo would stop and give me a rendition of Nee-Naw Nee-Naw to remind me what was happening on Monday.

All the firemen were lovely and really friendly. The children got to rampage around the engines and everybody got a go of using the hose and spraying water over another fire engine. Much fun.

The best bit was when a real emergency happened and we all had to huddle into the corner and watch the firemen whizz down their poles, leap into their awaiting boots and overalls and speed away in their nee-nawing Nee-Naws. Ace!

I'd asked Ana how she'd managed to organise the tour and besides knowing one of the firemen, she said that the emergency services get such crap chucked at them from kids on the street whilst they're out saving people and properties that they're keen to do anything they can to develop good relations with children as early as possible.

Isn't that mental? I can't imagine anybody thinking the fire service were anything other than amazing and cool and friendly and most of all, totally essential. I mean - in my day, firemen were properly COOL! And after today, I know for sure that they really are.

What a lovely morning - thanks so much Ana and thanks so much to all the firemen at the McDonald Road Fire Station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.