Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Wan Mare Cast.

Left my blip a bit late today. Really late actually. Too late to be able to post it on the day it was taken.

I cycled down to the pier with the aim of getting a long exposure of the fishing boats coming back in. That I did. But I also met two guys fishing off the pier.

Graham was sat on the edge of the pier. He wore a red checked shirt and drew smoke deeply from his roll-up whilst his nephew, Stewart cast a spinner into the sea. At their feet they had two bottles of buckfast and a couple of empty cans of Carling lager.

"Any luck?" I asked.

"Nuhin. No even a wee bite."

The conversation started there but lasted for another 2 hours. Having offered me a couple of cans I sat and fished and drank with them. All the usual. They told me where they were form and I me. Graham was reminiscent in the way he spoke; recalling the times he came up on holiday when he was a wee wain when he used to catch adders and slow worms.

We fished for ages but didn't catch anything, but that didn't matter because it was a nice night. Not a midge in sight due to the slight breeze. Graham and Stewart were taken aback at the silence of the area and the fact that we could hear the drunken ramblings of the people leaving the pub which was a good 800m away. Welcome to the Highlands.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.