...wORds bE fEW

By tnahlyn

Malibu Memories...

When I met my hubby, we were in high school, I had a 1965 Mustang and he had a fast, 1967 Chevelle! He was HOT...it was HOT...we were HOT!!! I was remembering his car, the way it sounded coming up our driveway, the way it smelled...it had a smell, the way it looked and the way it made me feel when we went cruising, I bet it was more of the way "HE" made me feel. But it was all good...it was a fun time of life, before the REAL concerns of life hit us. Of course when we got married, the car became a source of distress when we didn't have much money, yet a new transmission would appear in the garage, a posi rear end, slicks to go racing for PINKS that weekend. Memories...it's all good (glad they are over) But I wish we had a fun car!!! :D

A friend from work and I were going to go to the lake and walk after work, instead we decided to go to the car show and get our steps in that way. She said...Bring Your Camera. Everyone who knows me...KNOWS ME...and of course I shot up the place. It was fantastic.

Oh, and last night, I was at youth group, standing at the front doors, saying goodbye to the kids. One of the girls mom came to me with a bag. Now I don't know her that well, but I helped shoot pix for her parents 50th Anniversary!!. Anyways, she hands me a very heavy duffel bag and says, I can't use this, it was given to me, it is for a Canon and I have a Nikon. Use what you can, give it to someone, but I wanted you to have it. It is fun stuff, lens and stuff, but I just thought of you, she said. I wasn't even sure I said 'thank you' at first. I was in shock...cool I thought, a treasure bag. I did end up thanking her as she left with a big smile. I don't even know if I smiled. More like a gaping hole where my smile was suppose to be. I got home, got some things done, sat down about 10:00 and started to open each compartment...many filters for a 58mm...oh my gosh, that is mine. I pulled out a 55-200 lens, it fit...I had tears in my eyes...God is so good. M's mom B was so kind to give this to me. There was a Macro lens, I am not sure I couldn't get it to work, but there are 2 flashes. The only one I have is on the camera...and we all know how flattering that one is!!! There is one that shoots from around the lens and a remote, etc. I didn't have batteries to test those out. A small little tripod and a lens case and caps. As I type this now, I am still amazed. It was very much a surprise, a nice surprise...a blessing. Now I have to try to figure it all out. That is why I have my photo group, I know they can help. All that to say...WOW, I am humbled and blessed!!! What a great thing.

Today I got my very first check from my book cover gig...remember I said "Don't quit your day job"....$20.99. LOL....oh dear. It is fun, but hours of work...$20.99...it still makes me laugh.

I also got called into the boss's office, and thanked me again for the good job I did when the auditors were here, how they said I made them feel welcomed and cared for and how I coordinated the food so well. That was nice, he didn't have to say anything again...but he did, and it was good timing.

wORds bE fEW....NOT TONIGHT!!! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.