Mrs Bear

By mrsbear

Marshalling

M. Le Hug and I did a good thing today. Marshalling at our local ironman distance triathlon. From our briefing at 05:15 to our sign off at 22:00, we were yellow vest wearers, largely looking for triathletes down long roads and directing them to the left when they got to us. I have never stood for that long, it was (ahem) hard work!

Was hot hot hot at our bike marshalling spot (Base 3!). Not much shade. Was glad of the sunhat. This is Hugs practicing his Marshall stance...

Later in the day, I'm proud to announce (although was worried and anxious for them at the time!!) that I caused a car to crash into the kerb and blow/ ruin its front wheel. A bunch of young lads drove past as I was out checking for late-comer triathletes on the run. They did the young lad thing and yelled and hollered, arms out the window.. The driver promptly then swerved into the kerb and the car peetered up the road. All were ok, just annoyed. I ran back to my station!!

It was great marshalling, fab to give back a little and support others doing what they love.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.