Fi

By Fi

The Golden Gate Bridge

I said I wanted to 'bike the bridge' before I came here, so that's what I did today. I did some time on Alcatraz first though. I did the audio-tour, which was excellent. It's definitely the way to go - much better than following a guide holding an umbrella or something! Talking about guides with brollies, there was a massive Celebrity Cruise liner in town, which kind of dominated my city shots from the Alcatraz ferry.

It was ever so busy along Fisherman's Wharf, being that it was another fine and sunny day, so I hopped on a bike and cycled along to the GGB. I stopped under the bridge to take some piccies - there were a couple of surfers catching some waves which was quite entertaining for a few minutes' rest. I did look up and wonder how on earth I was going to be getting up onto the thing and I knew it meant one thing. A great big hill! I surprised myslf by not having to get off and walk up it, so it was quite an achievement in my little book! Cycling across the bridge was very exhilerating - got some great shots and again, it was tough to decide which to blip. (I really must get my blog up to date and post some more). I didn't continue to Sausalito and instead turned round to head back, knowing that there would be more going down hill than up!

Took the cable car back to Union Sq. and had a quick bite to eat in Lori's Diner to recover some of those lost calories before coming back for a soak in the tub!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.