Mental weather.

We've been having mental weather.

The wind is rediculous for this time of year........mind you I think we were flying back from Spain this time last year and it was really windy.

That was a truly horrible flight.

Ryanair........I don't think I need to say more but I will.

I hate flying now......it has crept up on me, fear of flying. I had prescribed valium. I took the valium.

The flight was going to be horrible anyway because it was Ryanair and there was no sign of where our gate was until they announced we were boarding so everyone was running and trying to elbow their way to the front of the queue.

Then we witnessed a young family having to repack their bags for a second time. Once was because they were a gram overweight at check-in, then again just before we all boarded the plane, they were told their hand luggage was too big (because they'd had to squeeze the excess from their other case into hand luggage). Their baby and small son were getting a bit restless.

Then there was a mad scramble for seats.

Then we took off......don't like that bit.

Then it was actually ok for a while.

Then we paid £3!!!! for a crappy cup of tea out of desperation.

Then we began to descend............there were cross-winds we were told. The seatbelt signs went on and for 15 mins the plane wobbled about.

Then it got so bad that the flight crew actually stopped trying to sell us stuff from their extortionate wee trolly and sat down and buckled up.

Then it dropped! I screamed (I was told later i wasn't the only one......honestly) the woman next to Kevin was crying. J was looking amused.

The kids behind me were obviously pointing to Inchcolm island (tiny island in the forth) and saying, "are going to crash onto that island"?

Then we landed with a bump in Edinburgh to that awful 'da dada da da da da dahhh'! Their triumphant announcment at actually getting us to our destination alive.

I pulled my nails out of Kevin's arms and we pushed our way out into the November/June weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.