random rancid rambles

By rancidand

Jaggery

I'm so excited about the pune blipmeet that I had to raid the blip bank. This is jaggery in solid and liquid form, it seems quite happy to coexist in both forms.

If you boil up the solid version you get the liquid, which is a little like molasses or black treacle, very sweet. I have a dal recipe that requires it, but I haven't got round to making it yet.

Apparently there was some sort of strike today, concerned with fuel prices. I didn't cross a picket line but I would have scabbed anyway since I support fuel prices that reflect the environmental cost and rarity value of carbon. Why should a government be forced to keep the price artificially low. The people are not responsible enough to treat it as precious so the state must protect itself (and the world).

Tomorrow there is some sort of huge religious march across town that will also close things down.

And the tour was exciting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.