a better fate than wisdom

By abetterfate

Sucked In

Most of the members of my immediate family have blip accounts, and occasionally when I am admiring their pictures, I experience two conflicting desires. On the one hand, I want to leave a comment expressing my admiration or, more likely, making a joke. But on the other hand, I've never felt much like going through the process of setting up a blip account of my own to enable me to satisfy the first desire.

It figures, of course, that the one day I do finally work up the energy to open my own account, I discover (after the fact, as it were) that blip now allows you to invite people to comment on your photos even if they don't have a blip account! Oh, well, I've been sucked in already. And who knows, perhaps I'll have a worthy picture every now and again.

This one is of my daily bowl of Joe's O's. Not only are they delicious, but they also provide a comforting sense of routine.

Finally, why the name? Well, I did at first consider "The Knitter's Husband", as well as "Son of Comments" and "An Uncommon Brother". But none of those really resonated with me, and since I don't really have a good nickname like my younger sister, I decided in the end to follow my dad's lead and use a line from my favorite poem.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.