Tuscany

By Amalarian

FEELING THE HEAT

The penalty one pays for not doing the supermarket run on schedule is that it must be done later. Friday is always a bun fight and since Monday is a holiday, the festa of San Paolino, Lucca's patron saint, I thought the crowds would be a snarling mass, everybody in as bad a mood as I was. No. Why? Too hot. When the temperature drops around 4 o'clock, the shoppers will be out in force.

It was 40 C (104 F) in Lucca. I thought I would take some pics of the Lucca wall, but held out no hope that anybody would be walking their dogs. I stood there swooning in the heat and was surprised to see these people nipping right along. I did better shots of the wall but something in the man's movements and posture made me smile and a smile is worth a thousand better pics.

For a long shot of the walls, look here

And....a happy birthday to Gavin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.