Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Phoebe

I had a lovely day today.

I spent a couple of hours back in bed with a cup of tea and a great (Book Group) book I'm reading just now - "The Elegance of the Hedgehog" by Muriel Barbery - and I managed to work up the energy to do a couple of hours cutting peat, and on the way home, I met Jenny walking out with her wee Westie, Phoebe.

This led to Jenny coming by the house, with my trying to help her with her new "UbiSurfer". I had never heard of such a thing - a mini laptop thing which allows you to surf the net, receive emails etc, but through Vodaphone or Wifi. The trouble is, you have to drive 4 miles up the road to receive a mobile phone signal.....

She brought it to my house, because I have Wifi, and she wanted to see how this would work. However, as usual with those things which claim "just plug it in and start surfing", it didn't. And their helpline is only open Mondays to Fridays. I was so disappointed not to be able to help Jenny, and I know she was frustrated with it.

Ain't technology grand?

However, we ended up with some nice pasta carbonara and watched an old favourite "Dave". I've had worse days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.