individual frames

By DanaHowell

Excited

Summer, in a sense, is almost over at my house. July ends in 2 weeks and school starts in 3 weeks. One of the first things I do once the kids are in school every year is go buy myself a candle. When the boys were younger I couldn't enjoy candles because they would blow them out the second they found them. So a candle that is allowed to burn is a subconscious signal to me that my kids are elsewhere. This one is called Indian Summer but it smells like what I usually buy in the fall, cinnamon and nutmeg. The boys are older now and they each picked out a candle for themselves as well.

Candles are also indicative of fall because thy don't burn well if the A/C is blowing on them constantly. Candles and a stiff wind don't get along.

I have jumped the gun a bit, but perhaps I'm trying to encourage the nature spirits to move things along too. 100 degrees every day is getting old. I love you, fall. Please come soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.