Mark Mayo, photographer

By marksmayo

Winter on the doorstep

I opened the door today, and I kid you not when I say winter is on our doorstep. Not only is it getting cold, but there was literally this autumn leaf sitting on my doorstep. So I decided it could be the feature for today. I have been experimenting with coloured card, and find that red shows shadows too easily, black is just a waste if you use a flash, it actually reflects it too much. White seems to be the best bet, until I can find some black velvet which is meant to work well.

I live on the first floor and don't have a back yard to call my own, but hey, I think this counts ;)

A tiny bit of cropping and post processing (sharpening etc), but overall I'm kinda pleased.

And it says something that when I clicked "browse" to upload, the explorer window was sitting in my CV folder ;) Been applying for quite a few today...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.